Amphibious transport dock USS San Antonio (LPD-17) maneuvering with tugs

No Thumbnail
Amphibious transport dock USS San Antonio (LPD-17) maneuvering with tugs (Bing Maps)
No Thumbnail
Google Maps Google Maps Bing Maps Bing Maps Yahoo Maps Yahoo Maps
View in Google Earth
By kjfitz @ 2007-05-30 16:56:35
The San Antonio class is the United States Navy's primary class of amphibious transport dock (LPD). It is replacing the older Austin-, Cleveland-, and Trenton- class LPDs as well as the Anchorage-class dock landing ships, Newport-class tank landing ships, and one class that has already been retired, the Charleston-class amphibious cargo ships. Thus, the twelve planned San Antonios will replace a total of 41 ships; however the San Antonio class's funding may be reduced in 2006 as a result of suspected budget cuts, and only nine ships will likely be funded. There are currently nine San Antonio-class LPDs under construction; LPDs 24 through 28 are planned, but have not been awarded to a shipyard or all named.

The class's increased vehicle and substantial cargo carrying capacity will make it a key element of 21st century Amphibious Ready Groups, Expeditionary Strike Groups, or Joint task forces. The 12 ships of the new class integrate the latest in shipbuilding and warfighting technologies to support current and future Marine Corps aircraft, the Expeditionary Fighting Vehicles (EFVs) and air cushion or conventional landing craft.

The San Antonios are designed to be the most survivable amphibious ships ever put to sea. The design incorporates state-of-the-art self-defense capabilities; Command and Control, Communications, Computers, and Intelligence (C4I); and reduced radar cross-section signature technologies. Reduced operational costs and an improved capability to incorporate technological advances over its 40-year service life are also essential design objectives. The Advanced Enclosed Mast/Sensors, which enclose the ship's radars and communications antennas, characterize the ship's distinctive profile. The ship's ability to carry Landing Craft, Air Cushioned (LCACs) and EFVs, the Shipboard Wide Area Network with over 762 fiber optic drops, Total Ship's Training System, Integrated Bridge System, Engineering Control System, and Damage Control System all serve to ensure that sailors and Marines will be able to fully perform their expeditionary warfare missions. The San Antonios also incorporate the latest quality of life standards for the embarked Marines and sailors, including the sit-up berth, ship services mall, and Learning Resource Center/Electronic Classroom with the flexibility to accommodate sailors and Marines of both sexes as part of the crew and embarked troops.
Views by date
Rate as 1Rate as 2Rate as 3Rate as 4Rate as 5Rate as 6Rate as 7Rate as 8Rate as 9Rate as 10
10.0 (2 votes)



Please log in if you don't want to post anonymously (anonymous users cannot post links)

Please enable images and enter code to post
Nearby maps
Destroyer Underway
Amphibious transport dock USS San Antonio (LPD-17) returning to port
USS Cole (DDG-67)
USS Anzio (CG-68)
DDG-61 Rampage
US tugs assisting a Royal Navy Type 23 frigate
Naval ship docking with the aid of tugs
USS Leyte Gulf (CG-55), USS Vella Gulf (CG-72) & USS Normandy (CG-60) Ticonderoga Class Cruisers
Oliver Hazard Perry class frigate USS Nicholas (FFG-47)
USS Elrod (FFG-55)
British Invincible class aircraft carrier in the US
USS Saipan (LHA-2) and USS Iwo Jima (LHD-7)
Similar maps
Amphibious assault ships USS Saipan (LHA-2) USS Bataan(LHD-5) & USS Wasp (LHD-1)
M80 'Stiletto' Stealth Boat
Amphibious assault ship USS Kearsarge (LHD-3)
Decommissioned amphibious assault ship USS Belleau Wood (LHA-3)
Landing Dock Platform (LPD) MM San Giorgio (L9892)
Former USS Tripoli (LPH-10) now a Mobile Launch Platform (MLP)
USS New Orleans (LPH-11) amphibious assault ship
Dock Landing Ship USS Shadwell (LSD-15) now a US Navy damage control test ship
Amphibious Assault Ships USS Boxer (LHD-4) & USS Tarawa (LHA-1)
Italian San Giorgio class small amphibious assualt ship 'MM San Giusto' (L9894)
JMSDF DDH 181 Hyuga (Hyuga class helicopter destroyer)
Tsaplya class LCAC (Project 1206.1, Murena) Hovercraft