The Athenaeum Club is a gentlemen's club standing at 107 Pall Mall, London, England, at the corner of Waterloo Place.

It is noted for its large library, and for a bas-relief frieze decorating the club house exterior. It was long regarded as a clergymen's club and boasts bishops, Cabinet Members, and peers amongst its members.

The club's facilities include a dining room, a smoking room and a suite of bedrooms. A notable feature of the Club's clock which hangs above the stairs is that it has two figure sevens and no figure eight, the reason for which is uncertain.

John Wilson Croker, Sir Thomas Lawrence, and some friends founded the club in 1823 for individuals known for scientific, literary or artistic accomplishments as well as patrons of these endeavours. Sir Thomas Lawrence designed the club crest: a head of Athena inside an oval surrounded by the legend "ATHENÆUM CLUB·PALL MALL".

Notable members:

The Earl of Aberdeen
Cardinal Basil Hume
Charles Dickens
Augustine William Shelton Agar, naval hero
Louis Lucien Bonaparte, linguist
James Bryce, 1st Viscount Bryce (1838-1922), jurist, historian and politician
Sir Francis Burdett, 5th Baronet
Thomas Campbell (Poet)
Winston Churchill
John Duke Coleridge, 1st Baron Coleridge (1820-1894)
Henry Hallam Historian, Commissioner of Stamps (1826)
Isaac D'Israeli
Matthew Arnold
Charles Darwin
Charles Kemble
Rudyard Kipling
Lord Robert Montagu (1825-1902)
Thomas Moore (poet)
Sir Roderick Impey Murchison (1792-1871), President of the Geological Society and the Royal Geographical Society.
George Nugent-Grenville, 2nd Baron Nugent (1789-1850)
Lord Palmerston
Harry St John Philby archaeologist and arabist
Cecil Rhodes
Andrew Geddes Bain geologist, road engineer, palaeontologist and explorer
Roy Jenkins Chancellor of the Exchequer and Home Secretary
Sir Walter Scott Writer
James Joseph Sylvester, Mathematician
William Makepeace Thackeray author
Professor Rick Trainor, Principal of King's College London
Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington (1769-1852)
Walter de la Mare (1873-1956)
Herbert Spencer (1820-1903)
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

In 2002 the members voted to admit women.
View in Google Earth Categories: Libraries
By: adrbr



Please enable images and enter code to post