This windmill, which stands today on Longchamp racecourse was once part of a monastery. Nestled opposite the Suresnes pond, the first stone was laid on 12 June 1256 by king Saint Louis.
Power - Wind
The windmill was demolished with the rest of the abbey when the clerics were banished during the revolution. It was rebuilt on the same foundations when the course was renovated in 1856. The roof and a wing were partially destroyed during a bombardment on 4 April, 1943, and repaired again in 1949.