1908 (station estalished 1846). Active; focal plane 181 ft (55 m); white flashes every 10 s, every fourth flash omitted. 51 ft (15.5 m) square brick Moorish tower atop the battlements of El Morro (San Felipe del Morro), the castle-like fort guarding the entrance to San Juan harbor. Light tower painted gray, gallery and trim white, lantern black. A 3rd order Fresnel lens installed in 1899 remains in use. There was never a keeper's house at this station; keepers lived in the city of San Juan. This lighthouse, with its unique and beautiful design, represents Puerto Rico's oldest light station. Mari-Mutt has photos of the 1846 and 1899 towers; the former was demolished after being heavily damaged by U.S. bombardment in 1898. The lighthouse was restored by the National Park Service in 1991. Located on the east side of the entrance to San Juan harbor.