Named in honour of Augusta, Princess of Wales, who founded the Gardens, and opened by Diana, Princess of Wales, in July 1987, this most complex of Kew's public glasshouses has ten climatic zones all computer-controlled under one roof.

The two main climate zones, the Dry Tropics and Wet Tropics, occupy most of this conservatory. There are eight more different micro-climates in the conservatory, each created for the special needs of a particular plant group.

All plants are shown as naturalistically as possible, with ferns clinging to dripping rock faces, and climbers on columns. Paths on different levels bring visitors close to the plants so they can appreciate the subtle details of the vegetation.
View in Google Earth Categories: Gardens
By: kjfitz



Please enable images and enter code to post