It was originally a Jesuit church, the foundation stone of which was laid in 1613.
It is a remarkable instance of late Gothic style, revealing various components and ornaments inspired by Renaissance style. At the end of the 18th century it adopted the picture of the Lady Comforter of the Afflicted, who had the power to work miracles, and who was the patron saint of the city and the country. 50 years later it was consecrated Saint Mary's Church and in 1870 Pope Pius IX dedicated the cathedral to the Blessed Virgin. Between 1935 and 1938 it was enlarged.
Located in the restored Jesuit College since 1970, it boasts a collection of 700,000 volumes of books and on top of that, a department of literary and artistic treasures.
The portal to the courtyard, which dates from the 17th century, is absolutely remarkable. During the alterations of 1967 the wall around the courtyard was pulled down and the wooden wings of the gate were replaced by a Baroque iron-barred gate.