A symphony of classical styles - Italian Renaissance, Rococo, Tudor and Georgian - this elegant marble building was designed by the renowned architects, Bliss and Faville, for Mr. and Mrs. James Leary Flood. Begun in 1912, the design and construction phases lasted three years, and the mansion was completed in time to serve as a stunning vantage point for the 1915 Panama-Pacific World Exposition, which filled the land below stretching to the Bay. Mr. and Mrs. Flood commissioned the finest artisans from this country and abroad to work on their home, which features hand-carved woods, expanses of marble, hand-painted murals, an enclosed tile courtyard and a stunning panoramic view that sweeps from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz and beyond. The result was a masterpiece that endures today with untarnished grandeur.
Mrs. Flood presented her home to the Society of the Sacred Heart in 1939. The building now houses classrooms and administrative offices of the Schools of the Sacred Heart.