The Stevens Estate was built in 1886 by Moses T. Stevens, a prosperous owner of textile mills and a member of one of the founding families of North Andover. The house and outbuildings were designed by the Boston architects Hartwell & Richardson and sit atop Osgood Hill. The beautiful oak and mahogany paneling, leaded stained glass windows and imported marble fireplaces are a testament to its grandeur and significance in the Boston area. The Stevens family maintained the Estate until the 1950s, when they donated the property to Boston University.
The Town of North Andover purchased the Stevens Estate in 1995 to protect it and preserve its grounds. On the National Register of Historic Places, the Stevens Estate is one the few remaining grand estates of the Victorian era.