Construction of Light Station Mukilteo started in 1905. The 38-foot tall lighthouse- equipped with a fouth-order Fresnel lens- went into operation in March, 1906. The Victorian style structure is of wood-frame construction, a unique feature as most lighthouses are built of concrete, brick or stone. Two keepers' quarters were built at the same time. Electricity came to the lighthouse in 1927, at which time the original oil lantern was replaced with an electric light. Part of the original complex included a windmill, which was built over one of the wells which served the town of Mukilteo.
View in Google Earth Categories: Lighthouses
Links: mukilteohistorical.org
By: jbottero
Advertisement

Comments

Policies
Please enable images and enter code to post
Reload
Advertisement