The 14th-century pele tower, now known as Dalton Castle, stands almost hidden by surrounding buildings. It was built around 1330-36 to provide a place of refuge for the monks of of nearby Furness Abbey against Scottish raiders. The Castle is similar in construction to many of that period, built as a rectangle 14 by 9 metre with walls at between 1.5 to 2 metre thick. Built from local limestone with red sandstone dressings seen around the openings. Originally the entrance was at ground level on the south side, with a spiral staircase leading to all floors and roof. This was blocked up around 1704, and present west entrance used.
Castles, Buildings - Novelty / Interesting
On the Dissolution of the monasteries, it passed into the hands of the Crown. By 1545 was in disrepair. Repairs were estimated at over £20 in 1546.
After the Castle was obtained by the National Trust from the Duke of Buccleuch, major restoration took place in 1968/69. There are now two floors above the ground floor. On display is some recently restored armour belonging to the castle. A guided tour around this small, but intriguing building gives a fascinating insight into the lives of the Abbot and monks of Furness, at one time amongst the most powerful in the country.