Focus Friday - 14th Dalai Lama

Blog Blog

Friday, Oct 21 2011 by

The 14th Dalai Lama (religious name: Tenzin Gyatso, shortened from Jetsun Jamphel Ngawang Lobsang Yeshe Tenzin Gyatso, born Lhamo Dondrub, 6 July 1935) is the 14th and current Dalai Lama. Dalai Lamas are the most influential figures in the Gelugpa lineage of Tibetan Buddhism, although the 14th has consolidated control over the other lineages in recent years. He won the Nobel Peace Prize in 1989, and is also well known for his lifelong advocacy for Tibetans inside and outside Tibet. Tibetans traditionally believe him to be the reincarnation of his predecessors and a manifestation of the Bodhisattva of Compassion.

Dalai Lama (StreetView)
Dalai Lama

Flag of Tibet (StreetView)
Flag of Tibet
Dalai Lama Graffiti (StreetView)
Dalai Lama Graffiti

Potala Palace (Dalai Lama's Palace) (Google Maps)
Potala Palace (Dalai Lama's Palace)