Royal Danish Navy celebrates it 500 years anniversary

Blog Blog

Tuesday, Aug 10 2010 by

On 10 August 1510 the Royal Sanis Navy was founded.

The Royal Danish Navy (RDN) (officially Kongelige Danske Marine in Danish but generally known as Søværnet or ‘Sea Defence’) is the sea-based branch of the Danish Defence force. The RDN is mainly responsible for maritime defence and maintaining the sovereignty of Danish, Greenlandic and Faroese territorial waters. Other tasks include surveillance, search and rescue, icebreaking, oil spill recovery and prevention as well as contributions to international tasks and forces.

During the period 1509-1814 when Denmark was in union with Norway, the Danish Navy was part of the Royal Dano-Norwegian Navy. Despite the country’s relatively small size, the navy is now equipped with a number of large state-of-the-art vessels commissioned since the end of the Cold War. This can be explained by its strategic location as the NATO member controlling access to the Baltic.

Danish Navy ships carry the prefix KDM (Kongelige Danske Marine) in Danish, but this is translated to HDMS (Her / His Danish Majesty’s Ship) in English. Denmark is one of several NATO member states whose navies do not deploy submarines.

Engelsborg Naval Shipyard (Google Maps)
Engelsborg Naval Shipyard

HDMS Absalon (L16) & HDMS Esbern Snare (L17) command and support ships (StreetView)
HDMS Absalon (L16) & HDMS Esbern Snare (L17) command and support ships